jump to navigation

Good Luck, Senator Domenici. But… October 7, 2007

Posted by Jim Satterfield in Politics.
trackback

When I heard that Senator Pete Domenici (R-N.M.) was going to announce the next day that he was retiring my first reaction was “Good riddance.”. I wasn’t impressed by his career in the Senate as a typical modern Republican, especially in the U.S. Attorney scandal. And yes, I do think there was a scandal there because the Justice Department is not supposed to be a political arm of the party in power. But then the details of why he was retiring came out. I wouldn’t wish a disease like that on any person I simply don’t like or respect. I don’t say I wouldn’t wish it on anyone because let’s face it, I’d have to think on it if you took it to the usually cited extremes of Hitler, Stalin or Mao. But as even more details come out as they did in the New York Times I also seriously wonder why in heaven’s name he isn’t stepping aside immediately. Is it just because he’s afraid that the Democratic Governor, Bill Richardson, wouldn’t appoint a Republican to take his place until an election could be held (Or the next regular election since I’m not sure of New Mexico’s law on this point.)? Or is it because he really is that certain that the progression of his disease won’t interfere with his ability to do his job? I seriously doubt the wisdom of this move if it is in fact as erratic and unpredictable in its progression as it sounds.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

